Lentil Potato Curry

Moscow Idaho

Hello from Moscow (Idaho, not Russia)! Whoa….I can’t believe I took a four month hiatus from blogging. Luckily, this blog is just for fun and I am not under any pressure to produce on a regular basis. Since my last post, I moved back to Salt Lake, went to Canada, was flown back to WA for an interview, got a sweet RD job in Pullman and ended driving all the way back up to move to Moscow, ID (7 miles from Pullman). It’s been a month and I am liking the new position, although I am still figuring out what I am supposed to be doing since I did not get to meet my predecessor. Meet the new dietitian

The Pullman/Moscow area is great! I love it because it reminds me of good ol’ Ellensburg- small college towns with a good sense of community. The only downside is that the Pullman Farmers Market falls on Wednesday evenings instead of Saturdays, and the Moscow market, while one of the best markets I’ve seen, does not allow dogs! The nerve!Moscow Farmers Market

There isn’t a dachshund parade here like in Ellensburg, but there is a lentil festival every year that attracts hundreds (maybe thousands) of people. In honor of Pullman, I decided to experiment a bit more with lentils. Maybe I will eventually come up with something good enough to win the cooking contest at the festival!

I’m one of those people who skips the beginning parts of most recipe blogs and scrolls straight down to the recipe, so I won’t bore you with too much background behind this recipe other than the fact that I wanted to make it because it is good comfort food for cold weather.

Lentil Potato Curry 2

Recipe: Lentil Potato Curry (Vegan, Gluten Free)

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups dry lentils (I used green)
  • 3 lbs of potatoes (I used sweet and red), washed and cubed
  • 3-4 tablespoons curry powder
  • 2 teaspoons turmeric
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 can coconut milk (full fat if you want more coconut flavor, but lite is okay)
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • Salt and pepper
  • Additional vegetable broth or water as needed for liquid consistency
  • Optional: 2 teaspoons each of cumin, chili powder, and/or oregano

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, soak lentils in water for about 8 hrs, or overnight. Drain, cover with water, and bring pot to a boil. Add potatoes, reduce heat, and let simmer for 20 minutes. (Alternatively, if you don’t want to soak the lentils, simply cook them for 40 minutes and add potatoes during the last half).
  2. Meanwhile, in a saucepan, heat coconut milk and vegetable broth and add in spices and and pinch of salt and pepper. Stir until incorporated.
  3. Pour broth mixture into lentil/potato mixture and stir. If needed, add additional broth or water until desired consistency is reached. Note that more liquid will “water down” the curry taste, so you may need a few extra teaspoons of spices.
  4. Serve with rolls or over rice.

Lentil Potato Curry

Leave a Reply

