Creative Potato Salads (Gluten-Free)

Potato SaladsSometimes, my best work happens during odd hours of the day. This is an example of a few of them. I signed myself up to bring potato salad to my work potluck that happened yesterday. This happened solely because I noticed there was still a blank spot on the sign up sheet that needed to be filled at the end of the eve of the potluck. Two potato salads

With it being 95+ degrees in the evening, I opted to do all my cooking the morning of the party. So, at 5am on July 3rd, I was up making potato salad, working slowly and steadily as I chopped 6 lbs of potatoes and a bunch of parsley and green onions while trying very hard not to wake up my roommate.

Potato salad recipes are all the same template: cook potatoes until soft, then add dressing of choice. I love recipes like this because that means I can get creative without worrying too much about ruining everything. I’m a month away from moving, so I am trying to use up all my condiments and spices before I leave. Hence, two potato salad recipes were born. I present to you, a dill and mustard potato salad (also called a German potato salad)and a very different Sriracha lime potato salad. Vegan, gluten-free, no gross mayo, and healthy!

In both cases, feel free to switch up any of the amounts of spices used to taste, or use whatever spices you have on hand that sound good. Both recipes are enough for an average potluck, or will serve 6-8 people as a full side dish.

For the Dill and Mustard German Potato Salad

German potato salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs potatoes of choice (I used white a red), washed and chopped into bite size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice, lime juice, or vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons fresh dill
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 handfuls of chopped parsley and green onions

Directions:

  1. Put chopped potatoes in a large pot of water. Bring pot to a boil and let simmer for 20 minutes, until potatoes are tender.
  2. While potatoes are cooking, chop your parsley and green onions and reserve for garnish. Combine the rest of the ingredients to make dressing.
  3. Drain potatoes and run under cold water to stop cooking. Throw potatoes in a large serving bowl and stir in dressing and add salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with parsley and onions. Store in refrigerator for a few hours to allow potatoes to absorb flavors, then serve cold.

For the Sriracha Lime Potato SaladSriracha potato salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs potatoes of choice (I used white a red), washed and chopped in to bite size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons Sriracha sauce
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons Asian chili garlic sauce
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 handfuls of chopped parsley and green onions

Directions: See above. 

Potato salads

One thought on “Creative Potato Salads (Gluten-Free)

Leave a Reply

