A Basic Vegan Pizza

IMG_20150405_182654

As much as I love to cook and bake, using measuring cups and spoons is probably one of my least favorite things about it. I love recipes where I can  make things up as I go along and eyeball amounts of ingredients to my liking. That way, I’m not constantly going to my phone to look at exactly how much of something I need to add. This week’s recipe involves a bit of a compromise: while I had to follow a recipe for pizza crust to an exact T, the recipe I used for a vegan cheese sauce was something I could play around a little with and go off-recipe.

I chose to do pizza  because I really had a craving for it, something that is probably not uncommon among new vegans . Lately, I’ve also been obsessed with nutritional yeast and finding different ways to use it, especially in cheesy comfort foods. While nutritional yeast mimics the taste of cheese, I wanted to find a sauce recipe that would also mimic the texture of cheese on a pizza. I did a google search for “nutritional yeast cheese sauce” and found this recipe, which I ended up adapting to make my own. IMG_20150408_193246

For the crust I played around with a few different recipes and found one from Yummy Health Easy that I really liked (link in recipe below). I don’t have a pizza pan, so I used a cake pan and doubled the edges of the crust to make it a little thicker.

20150407_203749

Less than 30 minutes later, a pizza was born! Way faster, cheaper, and healthier than delivery!

20150408_194525

Recipe: Whole-Wheat Vegan Pizza

Ingredients:

  • Whole-wheat pizza crust (I used this recipe from Yummy Healthy Easy), or sub a whole-wheat tortilla
  • Pizza sauce (I used Eden’s organic)
  • Vegetables and other toppings of choice (I used mushrooms, kale, spinach, and a veggie meat substitute)
  • Nutritional yeast, for sprinkling
  • Cheese sauce
    • 1/2 c nutritional yeast
    • 1/4 c cornstarch
    • 2 Tbs whole-wheat flour
    • 2 cups water
    • 1 tsp mustard
    • 1 tsp garlic powder
    • 1 tsp cumin

Directions: For the cheese sauce, combine nutritional yeast, cornstarch, flour, and water in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until dry ingredients dissolve, then bring mixture to a boil. Simmer until desired thickness is reached, then add in spices. If mixture becomes to clumpy or thick, add in a few tablespoons of vegetable oil.

Once the cheese sauce is finished, simply roll out the pizza dough, top with pizza sauce, cheese sauce, vegetables, and sprinkle with additional nutritional yeast. Bake at 425 F for 10-15 minutes.

Want more recipes using nutritional yeast? Check out my Power 20 blogpost for zucchini fries and kale chips!

20150407_131337 20150407_131703

One thought on “A Basic Vegan Pizza

Leave a Reply

