Avocado Lime Bread

When I moved to Ellensburg from Salt Lake City about five months ago, one of the stores I saw that I had never heard of was Grocery Outlet. If you’ve never experienced a Grocery Outlet before, it is basically a grocery store where other grocery stores send outdated products and foods that haven’t been sold and are close to their sell-by date. I don’t do my regular grocery shopping there because the selection of foods is a bit random. When I do find myself there, I usually stock up on agave nectar, coconut oil, and chia seeds because the prices there are much cheaper compared to Fred Meyer.

Anyways, on to the point of that back story. In the past two months, this amazing deal has been a frequent occurrence at my local grocery outlet:

IMG_20141222_165924

Pretty awesome, huh? You bet I stocked up on these bad boys!

The thing is, I was a little overzealous about this deal and purchased just a few too many avocados.  I was planning on making an avocado salad and avocado cream pasta this week, but two of the avocados I had were just a little too ripe and brown on the inside.

20150210_173815

What i usually do with avocados is use them in place of butter when I bake. Overripe avocados would still work for this purpose. However, this same day, I happened to be on Pinterest when I saw this recipe for avocado lime bread! What a concept! It basically uses the same principle as banana bread: overripe fruit is used to both flavor the bread and keep it moist.

20150211_172837

This recipe I saw was not vegan, so I decided to veganize it and give it a shot! I wanted a slightly sweeter bread, so I tried adding in some banana, applesauce, and vanilla extract to round out the avocado flavor. The batter ends up a light green color that isn’t the most attractive thing in the world.

20150210_180230

The final product tasted pretty good. The avocado and lime flavors both come through, but are not overpowering. Next time, I want to try adding coconut flakes to the batter for some more flavor and sweetness.

Avocado Lime Bread from Avocado Alice

Recipe: Avocado Lime Bread

Makes one 9×5 loaf

Adapted from My Kitchen Affair

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 ripe avocados, mashed
  • 1/2 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons agave, maple syrup, or molasses
  • Juice and zest of one lime
  • 1 chia seed egg (1 Tbs chia seeds + 3 Tbs water, allow 10-15 minutes to gel)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • Oats, seeds, or coconut flakes, for sprinkling.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Combine avocado, banana, applesauce, agave, vanilla, lime juice, and zest in a medium mixing bowl. Add in chia seed egg after chia seed mixture has gelled.
  3. Stir in flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Pour mixture into oiled bread pan. Sprinkle top with oats, seeds, or coconut flakes
  5. Bake for 45 minutes, or toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  6. Allow bread to cool completely before removing from pan and slicing. 20150211_172936 (1)

Between the slightly green color and my amateur smartphone photography skills, this isn’t the most photogenic food out there. However, it looks delicious in real life and tastes even better!

Leave a Reply

